Max 0.8.1 -- will not display Ripper window

Discuss Max, an open source CD audio extractor and audio converter.
Post Reply
emmodad
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 9:21 am

Max 0.8.1 -- will not display Ripper window

Post by emmodad »

Hi Steve, happy paid Max subscriber here.... (folks: fork over a shareware donation!, Max is great SW)

I am on OSX 10.4.11 PPC; all current updates installed as of several days ago.

have just upgraded this evening from 0.7.1 to 0.8.1 (after first deleting prefs as per install instructions). No other changes to my system at all, just upgrading Max.

Max 0.8.1 will not display Ripper window: upon startup (guess this may be natural); with CD inserted & recognized by Max; or when actual ripping / encoding is taking place.

Does not matter if preference to dynamically hide windows is selected or not; or if Bring All Windows to Front is selected

Ripper window never appears, and the Ripper menu item in Max's "Window" menu is always greyed out.

have tried many combinations of restart / trash Max prefs / uninstall / reinstall all with no joy

if I quit 0.8.1, then launch 0.7.1, Ripper menu item appears in 0.7.1 and Ripper window is visible and active in 0.7.1 at all times.

if I quit 0.8.1, then launch 0.7.1, open Ripper window, quit 0.7.1, launch 0.8.1 -- the Ripper window is visible and active in 0.8.1 but the Ripper menu item in 0.8.1 Max's "Window" menu is always greyed out.

Is there a known solution to this issue?
User avatar
sbooth
Site Admin
Posts: 2458
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 7:45 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Max 0.8.1 -- will not display Ripper window

Post by sbooth »

You are the second person to report this issue, but I am unable to reproduce it and have no idea what could be causing it.

Are there any error messages printed to the console?
emmodad
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 9:21 am

Re: Max 0.8.1 -- will not display Ripper window

Post by emmodad »

no Steve, no error messages appearing in Console.

I restarted and opened only Max; no messages appear. I am for now doing as mentioned above: quit out of 0.7.1 with Ripper window open, then start 0.8.1. Ripper window appears, but Window menu item for Ripper is greyed out. If I close the Ripper window, it can't be opened again unless I quit & restart Max (when Ripper window is indeed open on the relaunch, but Ripper Window menu item again greyed out...)

sorry I can't provide better info.
DevCore
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:07 pm

Re: Max 0.8.1 -- will not display Ripper window

Post by DevCore »

I'm getting that error too.

The only way I can get the ripper window to open up again is if I quit Max or eject and re-insert my CD.
And even when the ripper window is open, the option to select it is greyed out.

I just updated to 0.8.1 and 0.8 was doing it too. I'm also running OSX 10.4.11.
User avatar
Fuga
Posts: 399
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Max 0.8.1 -- will not display Ripper window

Post by Fuga »

emmodad wrote:Hi Steve, happy paid Max subscriber here.... (folks: fork over a shareware donation!, Max is great SW)
Holy crap. Been so long since I've visited the main homepage I missed the opportunity to donate (had made queries about same in the distant past). So, agreed. Some of the best stuff out there.
gojou
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 2:27 am

Re: Max 0.8.1 -- will not display Ripper window

Post by gojou »

Another data point - I have this same problem. Running 10.5.4 on a white Intel iMac.
goinup
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 3:32 pm

Re: Max 0.8.1 -- will not display Ripper window

Post by goinup »

Hi--

It seems to be a memory leak..?


10/15/08 11:22:49 AM com.apple.launchd[63] ([0x0-0x1f01f].org.sbooth.Max[263]) Stray process with PGID equal to this dead job: PID 272 PPID 1 smbclient
10/15/08 11:25:54 AM com.apple.launchd[63] ([0x0-0x28028].org.sbooth.Max[306]) Stray process with PGID equal to this dead job: PID 309 PPID 1 smbclient

Os: 10.5.5

Intel Macbook
goinup
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 3:32 pm

Re: Max 0.8.1 -- will not display Ripper window

Post by goinup »

Hi-

Is there any update on the cause of this problem? I am still getting this issue. I am willing to help try to debug the app. Do you have a debug build available of 0.8.1?

thanks
User avatar
sbooth
Site Admin
Posts: 2458
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 7:45 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Max 0.8.1 -- will not display Ripper window

Post by sbooth »

I still don't have any ideas on the cause of this problem. I thought it could have been isolated to 10.4, but it seems to happen on Leopard as well.

Does the problem still happen with the latest svn build I've posted?
goinup
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 3:32 pm

Re: Max 0.8.1 -- will not display Ripper window

Post by goinup »

Hi-

Yes it does :(
goinup
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 3:32 pm

Re: Max 0.8.1 -- will not display Ripper window

Post by goinup »

could this be something with your -awakeFromNib?
emmodad
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 9:21 am

Re: Max 0.8.1 -- will not display Ripper window

Post by emmodad »

bumpity...


any new info on this issue? Ripper Window still not displaying correctly; PPC PowerBook G4 issue in both 10.4.11 and 10.5.2.

the various kludges mentioned in my initial post of this thread do indeed still work...

thnx, cp
jaskerr
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:17 am

Re: Max 0.8.1 -- will not display Ripper window

Post by jaskerr »

bump another ...

All I remember doing "wrong" is closing the Ripper window. The menu item was grayed out, so I couldn't bring the window back. (I've since used the swap 0.7.1 for 0.8.1 hack to bring the window back.)

I couldn't tell you if the menu item was grayed out before I closed the window. Hmmm.

If you want, I can move my pref/appsupport files aside and test a "new" install.
dvdweyer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:30 pm

Re: Max 0.8.1 -- will not display Ripper window

Post by dvdweyer »

Same here, with Max 0.9.1 under Mac OS X 10.6.3. I remember closing the ripper window some time ago ...
Post Reply