Convert mp3 vbr to cbr ???...

Discuss Max, an open source CD audio extractor and audio converter.
Post Reply
gramouk
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Convert mp3 vbr to cbr ???...

Post by gramouk » Tue Sep 04, 2007 7:57 pm

Hi everyone!!!!
I use Pioneer CDJ200 for DJing, the problem is these players can't take mp3 vbr.
How can I convert my vbr mp3s to cbr's without quality loss???
Thanx a lot!

User avatar
krmathis
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Convert mp3 vbr to cbr ???...

Post by krmathis » Wed Sep 05, 2007 7:49 pm

I believe you can use MP3 repacker to perform a lossless VBR to CBR convertion.
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/ind ... opic=32379
Features:
..
* Many people also use this backwards, to losslessly turn VBR into larger CBR files to humor players which can't handle VBR

gramouk
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Re: Convert mp3 vbr to cbr ???...

Post by gramouk » Wed Sep 05, 2007 9:35 pm

Thanx man, thing is im using Mac, and it doesnt work on Mac.... :cry:

gramouk
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Re: Convert mp3 vbr to cbr ???...

Post by gramouk » Thu Sep 06, 2007 12:07 pm

No one has a clue????

RonaldPR
Posts: 433
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 8:27 am
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: Convert mp3 vbr to cbr ???...

Post by RonaldPR » Thu Sep 06, 2007 1:17 pm

I am no expert, but I think it is not possible to convert from one lossy format to another without at least some loss.

User avatar
krmathis
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Convert mp3 vbr to cbr ???...

Post by krmathis » Thu Sep 06, 2007 3:11 pm

gramouk wrote:Thanx man, thing is im using Mac
Well, I sort of figured that you use Mac's. Since Max is Mac OS X only...
and it doesnt work on Mac.... :cry:
Not quite true.
Just pull the source code and compile. MP3 repacker is mostly platform independent, only restricted to the OS where OCaml have been ported. Worked for me the last time I used it...

gramouk
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Re: Convert mp3 vbr to cbr ???...

Post by gramouk » Thu Sep 06, 2007 6:07 pm

When I open MP3packer (OSX version) it opens up terminal and then I can't really do anything... can you help me out please???

Is there any way that Max can convert my VBRs to aiff and then to CBR automatically???

If I just set output to CBR, is Max gonna re-code them or crosscode them (mp3 vbr ---> aiff -----> mp3cbr).

Thanx a lot!

User avatar
sbooth
Site Admin
Posts: 2450
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 7:45 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Convert mp3 vbr to cbr ???...

Post by sbooth » Sat Sep 08, 2007 4:07 am

gramouk wrote:If I just set output to CBR, is Max gonna re-code them or crosscode them (mp3 vbr ---> aiff -----> mp3cbr).
Max will re-encode them: MP3 VBR -> PCM in memory -> MP3 CBR. I wouldn't recommend MP3 to MP3 conversions using the current versions of Max, because they do not recognize Xing headers and your gapless information (if present) will be lost.

Post Reply