Cannot select quality of any Core Audio output format

Discuss Max, an open source CD audio extractor and audio converter.
Post Reply
DaniFilth
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 5:16 am

Cannot select quality of any Core Audio output format

Post by DaniFilth » Fri Sep 25, 2015 5:24 am

Hi,

running Max under OS X 10.11, I cannot select quality settings or bitrate for any Core Audio output format in the preferences.
Bildschirmfoto 2015-09-25 um 07.14.57.png
Encoding with the selected Core Audio output still works fine but on minimal quality setting.

User avatar
sbooth
Site Admin
Posts: 2450
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 7:45 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Cannot select quality of any Core Audio output format

Post by sbooth » Sun Nov 29, 2015 3:03 am

I can confirm this is a bug but as of yet I'm not sure what is causing it. Apparently parts of Core Audio changed in OS X 10.11 without accompanying documentation for developers.

bryanjwilson
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 1:57 am

Re: Cannot select quality of any Core Audio output format

Post by bryanjwilson » Mon Mar 06, 2017 1:59 am

Was this ever resolved? I just had this issue pop up after years of using Max with no problems! Thanks in advance!

fortinmike
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 2:32 am

Re: Cannot select quality of any Core Audio output format

Post by fortinmike » Wed Jan 17, 2018 2:35 am

I'm also seeing this and unfortunately it completely breaks Max for me (one of the apps I systematically install on every Mac I own). Is a fix planned for this?

I see that the last release was in 2009... but surely such a breaking bug justifies an update after all this time?

mattn
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 4:21 am

Re: Cannot select quality of any Core Audio output format

Post by mattn » Mon Jan 22, 2018 5:01 am

I'm having this problem too. This is a major disaster. If you so much as open the settings for the encoder, the settings are destroyed (you can see this by examining the preferences plist afterwards).

mattn
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 4:21 am

Re: Cannot select quality of any Core Audio output format

Post by mattn » Sun Apr 29, 2018 2:36 pm

Because of this bug, Max is completely dead.

User avatar
Fuga
Posts: 395
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Cannot select quality of any Core Audio output format

Post by Fuga » Thu May 03, 2018 1:49 am

On one had, it being 32 bit, mostly I'm thinking 'Meh'. But in truth, it makes me sad. I wore out Max back in the day.

It makes me wonder which sbooth apps are regularly used these days. I loved Play and both versions of Tag but turned to other apps that are supported and developed. I do still use Decibel albeit rarely.

I have this site in a batch of bookmarks I load just to check in and can not bring myself to delete it.

Loeffler
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 10:25 am

Re: Cannot select quality of any Core Audio output format

Post by Loeffler » Sat Jun 30, 2018 1:22 pm

mattn wrote:
Sun Apr 29, 2018 2:36 pm
Because of this bug, Max is completely dead.
That's such a shame. I loved this program back in the day. Made an account to ask some questions, but what's the point...

Post Reply