Does Decibel mute between tracks?

This forum is archived.
Please use the feisty forums for discussing Decibel.
Locked
pl_svn
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:34 pm

Does Decibel mute between tracks?

Post by pl_svn »

... sorry, I'm new to all this and I'm considering a dac (Schiit Bifrost) and I'm a little scared by "clicks" that, accordingly to what I'm reading, occur on "mute" and/or sample rate changes (the latter is not my case)

so...the answer is? ;-)

thanks
User avatar
sbooth
Site Admin
Posts: 2458
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 7:45 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Does Decibel mute between tracks?

Post by sbooth »

What do you mean by mute? Do you mean output silence? If so, there is a user configurable option to do so between sample rate changes, but Decibel does not insert any silence between tracks of the same sample rate.
pl_svn
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:34 pm

Re: Does Decibel mute between tracks?

Post by pl_svn »

Jason, Schiit owner, answered my question about user reported "clicks" this way:

"There is no issue with clicking. It's the internal muting relay doing it's job. The relay activates on sample rate changes, or dropouts in the digital signal. Some computer players mute between tracks, which causes the clicking"


so... I guess your answer is *no* and I can order my Bifrost, right? :-)
User avatar
sbooth
Site Admin
Posts: 2458
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 7:45 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Does Decibel mute between tracks?

Post by sbooth »

I don't understand what "mute" means in this context. Some DACs, such as the Wavelength Proton, have a built-in analog volume control that can be adjusted via software. To me, setting that volume to 0 between tracks would be muting. Outputting zeroes (silence) between tracks doesn't qualify as muting in my book, because it is really no different than a silent passage in a classical piece, for example.
pl_svn
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:34 pm

Re: Does Decibel mute between tracks?

Post by pl_svn »

... as I understand it "mute" stands for "dropping the signal". anyway... once I have this DAC in my hands I'll let you know ;-)

thank you once more
User avatar
sbooth
Site Admin
Posts: 2458
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 7:45 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Does Decibel mute between tracks?

Post by sbooth »

I look forward to the result of your testing! Decibel doesn't drop the signal between tracks, so hopefully you will be OK.
pl_svn
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:34 pm

Re: Does Decibel mute between tracks?

Post by pl_svn »

my Schiit Bifrost DAC is finally here and (apart being great :-p ) no "clicks" = confirmed: Decibel doesn't mute (drop the signal) between tracks

thanks Stephen :-)
User avatar
sbooth
Site Admin
Posts: 2458
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 7:45 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Does Decibel mute between tracks?

Post by sbooth »

Excellent!
mattn
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 4:21 am

Re: Does Decibel mute between tracks?

Post by mattn »

Enjoyed learning about a DAC I'd never heard of. Thanks for posting about it!
pl_svn
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:34 pm

Re: Does Decibel mute between tracks?

Post by pl_svn »

... when a couple of months ago I put together my hi-fi system and, for the first time ever, faced this new (to me) territory of computer digital audio... as I'm "pretty old-school" (pure single-ended tube ampli :-p ) I found this young company that also makes really great single-ended tube earphone amplifiers and I immediately knew who I could trust for a DAC :-)

but their Bifrost DAC is higly reputed also out of tubes territory ;-)
Last edited by pl_svn on Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:58 am, edited 2 times in total.
pl_svn
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:34 pm

Re: Does Decibel mute between tracks?

Post by pl_svn »

sbooth wrote:Excellent!
so now... I'm waiting for an "iOS Decibel" ;-)
Locked