Page 1 of 1

Does Max do AC3 files

Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:28 pm
by joneses
I just downloaded MAX to convert my AC3 files to AIFF files but I'm having a little difficulty figuring out how to do that. I downloaded the unstable version and in the preferences I don't see an AC3 option.

Re: Does Max do AC3 files

Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:07 pm
by sbooth
No, Core Audio (and libsndfile as far as I know as well) don't decode AC-3 files. There is a free AC-3 codec (http://shep.thefridgeowl.com/a52codec.php) that could help, but I haven't tried it in years so I'm not sure to what extent it would be useful in this situation.

Re: Does Max do AC3 files

Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:42 pm
by joneses
Thanks! I'm trying to find a decoder that can decode AC3 to AIFF in Leopard and it's been a challenge...

Re: Does Max do AC3 files

Posted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:51 pm
by mattn
Just for the record, I just tried a52decX (running on Leopard/Intel) and it worked fine for converting .ac3 to .aiff:

http://homepage1.nifty.com/~toku/softwa ... ml#a52decX

The source code is available so perhaps Max could eventually incorporate this transformation...