Secure ripping

Discuss the current and future development of Max.
sbooth
Site Admin

Secure ripping

Post by sbooth » Mon Jan 23, 2006 9:36 pm

Now that I believe the bugs are ironed out in the 0.5 release series :wink:, I am going to start on writing (from scratch) a secure ripper à la EAC.

But, I am no expert so I am requesting some feedback or referrals to people who may know.

I understand the principle is to read a CD sector as many times as required until a level of certainty is obtained that the data extracted is "true". A CD sector is 2352 bytes, or 18816 bits. I'm a little rusty on probability, so my question is this: what is a mathematically correct algorithm for determining if the sector is correctly extracted?

I know there is more to it than that, though, with C2 error correction and such.

Any information or pointers to information would be much appreciated.

Maurits

Check out PyRipper thread on HA.org

Post by Maurits » Sun Jan 29, 2006 2:06 pm

You could check out this thread on Hydrogenaudio.

It's about developing a secure ripper for Linux and OS X and has a lot of background info on how to bypass hardware-caches in modern CD/DVD drives.

someone

Post by someone » Mon Feb 13, 2006 5:55 am

I believe there were patches which allowed CDParanoia to bypass CD drive cache. While I understand that it is very difficult to read code written by other, I would still suggest you to look at the source code of cdparanoia and build on top of it. There are interests in hydrogenaudio forum to continue the project, so you might want to contact these people.

Also, consider other options as well. Pyripper/Rubyripper uses the rip and test technique, which I mentioned to you in my bug report. For that, you probably want to use a *less* reliable ripping method and ignore all error reporting.

Lastly, you can try to rip 4-6mbs at once, which might also allow you to bypass the drive cache.

sbooth
Site Admin

Post by sbooth » Tue Feb 14, 2006 5:21 am