Comparing rips

Discuss the current and future development of Max.
Post Reply
Mike1
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 3:55 pm

Comparing rips

Post by Mike1 » Tue May 29, 2007 6:38 pm

I only just discovered--possibly it's new--that one (possibly more) of the Windows rippers has the ability to compare your rips with other people's over the network. The idea seems to be that if your rip doesn't agree with what several others have you probably need to clean your CD or find a less damaged copy.

It sounds like an interesting idea--although in practice I suppose whether it's that important is another matter. But I just wondered if a similar feature might make its way into Max in time if there's a public API for that.

User avatar
krmathis
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post by krmathis » Tue May 29, 2007 7:38 pm

The AccurateRip database are used by EAC and dbpoweramp.
But its sadly limited to MS Windows only, and hence not possible to use in Max. :(
sbooth wrote:
sporksmith wrote:Any chance of seeting accuraterip integrated into Max?
Not really, because it is Windows only and they solely provide a binary (dll) interface. I looked into it pretty heavily about 6 months ago and there is no chance (at this time) of getting the source code, because they are afraid that with the source code people could submit bogus information and lower the quality of their database. I'm not sure the argumemt holds water, but in any case, there is no OS X SDK and no way to get one. You might want to check out http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/lof ... 37945.html, http://www.audiosense.org/forum/showthread.php?t=469, http://www.audiosense.org/forum/showthread.php?t=413, http://www.audiosense.org/forum/showthread.php?t=280, and http://www.audiosense.org/forum/showthread.php?t=354.
Source: http://sbooth.org/forums/viewtopic.php?p=2795#2795


Edit: Stephen. Would the perl script mentioned here be usable?
http://www.audiosense.org/forum/showthr ... 62f&t=1032
Download here: http://www.srcf.ucam.org/~cjk32/ARCue/

Mike1
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 3:55 pm

Post by Mike1 » Wed May 30, 2007 3:04 pm

Thanks for the link to the earlier discussion, KR. Somehow I'd missed that first time round.

User avatar
sbooth
Site Admin
Posts: 2445
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 7:45 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by sbooth » Wed May 30, 2007 6:30 pm

I'll have to dust off my perl skills and take a look- thanks for the links.

User avatar
krmathis
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post by krmathis » Wed May 30, 2007 7:15 pm

You're most welcome!
It would be great if Max got access to the AccurateRip database.

Max would probably need drive offset capability as well though.

User avatar
krmathis
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Comparing rips

Post by krmathis » Sat Nov 10, 2007 12:35 am

Stephen. This "might" be good news...
ARCue, the multiplatform AccurateRip checksum script, have just been ported from Perl to C++. Maybe that makes it easier to integrate AccurateRip into Max?

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/ind ... t&p=527474

User avatar
sbooth
Site Admin
Posts: 2445
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 7:45 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Comparing rips

Post by sbooth » Sat Nov 10, 2007 3:02 am

krmathis wrote:Stephen. This "might" be good news...
ARCue, the multiplatform AccurateRip checksum script, have just been ported from Perl to C++. Maybe that makes it easier to integrate AccurateRip into Max?

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/ind ... t&p=527474
Thanks for this- I'll take a look.

Strangely, I was reviewing the perl script the day before yesterday and it seemed to me at the time that the file had to be ripped as a WAV for the script to work.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest