Multi-CD sets only match CD1

Discuss Max, an open source CD audio extractor and audio converter.
TheTubeDude

Multi-CD sets only match CD1

Post by TheTubeDude » Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:13 pm

Hello!

I am new to Max and so far it's worked great for my - I am ripping my entire collection which consists of several hundred CDs.

I ran into a snag though. When I try to RIP multi-CD sets it finds CD1 OK, but then it considers CD2 to be identical. For instance this set, Painting It Red by The Beautiful South

http://musicbrainz.org/release/300214c0 ... d91b04abe4

CD1 all fine, but when i put the second CD in, it thinks its the same. I also noted that this happened earlier with other CDs.

I hope there is a way as entering manually is a drag, If there was a way to manually tell Max which ID it should read from Music Brainz, that would work too - or perhaps I am just missing something obvious?

Thanks for help!

P

sbooth
Site Admin

Re: Multi-CD sets only match CD1

Post by sbooth » Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:16 pm

A few months back MusicBrainz changed the way they categorize multi-disc sets. Max hasn't been updated yet to deal with the database change.

erichenao

Post by erichenao » Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:19 pm

I'm having the same problem. Could we get a deadline to an update for this? Or how about: how do we switch which database MAX uses to get track info to using something else besides musicbrainz?

Thanks,
Eric

RonaldPR

Post by RonaldPR » Fri Sep 16, 2011 8:58 am

You can use the "Get iTunes Metadata" script to use the database that iTunes uses (Gracenote).
The script is included with Max downloads, can also be found here: http://forums.sbooth.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1930

(For freeware like Max, only free databases can be used in the application itself. Gracenote is commercial.)

sbooth
Site Admin

Post by sbooth » Sun Sep 18, 2011 1:47 pm