Where are the FLAC files?

Discuss Max, an open source CD audio extractor and audio converter.
oldskoolboarder

Where are the FLAC files?

Post by oldskoolboarder » Mon Feb 09, 2009 2:01 am

MAX newbie here.

I ripped a CD to FLAC and changed the default destination directory. I also set VLC to play them when completed. When the rip was done, I looked in the destination and didn't see any files. VLC shows the whole album and plays it. When I choose a file and do a command I, it shows the following as the source directory: 'Music/FLAC/Norah Jones/Feels Like Home/.flac'. When I point the Finder to the same directory, it's empty. I check the size of the folder and it says something like 21 MB.

1) That seems small for a full CD rip into FLAC.
2) There's no files to see.

Where are the files?

Thanks.

sbooth
Site Admin

Re: Where are the FLAC files?

Post by sbooth » Mon Feb 09, 2009 7:44 am

It seems like the file's names are messed up. Files whose name start with . will be hidden in Finder. You can launch Terminal and see if they are there:

Code: Select all

ls -l Music/FLAC/Norah Jones/Feels Like Home

Mike1

Post by Mike1 » Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:38 pm

sbooth wrote:It seems like the file's names are messed up. Files whose name start with . will be hidden in Finder. You can launch Terminal and see if they are there:

ls -l Music/FLAC/Norah Jones/Feels Like Home
It occurs to me that if the original poster has named the destination directory .flac - as appears from his post - he can't see it by listing the contents of the directory above it (Feels Like Home) with ls -l.

You need the "a" switch : ls -al.

To see the files, as opposed to the directory, the OP could do:

cd Music/FLAC/Norah Jones/Feels Like Home/.flac
Then:

ls
But no need.