Compilations / Various Artists Issue?

Discuss Max, an open source CD audio extractor and audio converter.
southernwayfarer

Compilations / Various Artists Issue?

Post by southernwayfarer » Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:20 pm

When I rip a compilation CD with MAX, the "Artist" field gets populated with the term 'Various" or "Various Artists" via MusicBrainz. The individual track "Title" field is includes the track artist and the song name separated by a "/".

However, in iTunes (via GraceNote) the "Artist" field is populated by the individual track artists and the track "Name" is only the track name. The new iTunes "Album Artist" field is filled with "Various Artists" by iTunes .

Is the problem with MAX a limitation of MAX or of MusicBrainz?

Dcislander

Re: Compilations / Various Artists Issue?

Post by Dcislander » Thu Jan 03, 2008 7:21 pm

Hey there,
I am not a Max expert, but I have spent the last few months learning by mistake. The program is great but the tagging seems to be one of the more criticized features--but for what we paid for Max, it does not leave much room for complaint. The Various Artist issue is a MB issue. Itunes gets their tags from another source (Gracenote I think) which may be different, although I have had the same issue in Itunes before (ripping 2000 CDs). What I do is click the compilation box, and cut/paste each artist name from the track name. It is a pain, but you may as well do it right the 1st time. This is the link to my thread about a similar issue: http://sbooth.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1831

If you have already imported CDs with the various artist tags as I did, you can bring the folder into Itunes, change the tag info in Itunes then export the folder. It is a pain but it works.

Hope that helps.

Mike1

Post by Mike1 » Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:57 am

Dcislander wrote:... although I have had the same issue in Itunes before (ripping 2000 CDs).