Dragging & dropping songs from iTunes scrambles order

Discuss Decibel, a high quality audio player.
shawtimothy

Dragging & dropping songs from iTunes scrambles order

Post by shawtimothy » Tue Aug 20, 2013 8:35 pm

I am new to using Decibel.

I'm seeking a player that works with iTunes, so that I can continue to use iTunes file management, and optimally drag & drop from there into a player.

Decibel has promise for this use. However, when I drag & drop from iTunes into Decibel, it scrambles the song order. This won't work for me. If there is a means to prevent this, and retain the song order when moving a playlist or collection of songs into the Decibel player, please share.

Alternatively, I could play my iTunes playlists from within Decibel. I see this discussed in the forums, but it is not clear to me how to do so with the trial version of Decibel that I have. (Please explain?) This strategy would only be useful to me if there is a means to update Decibel's reading of the playlists on the fly (or possibly to drag & drop from iTunes while maintaining song order), as opposed to upon re-starting Decibel.

Thank you for your input.

Timothy S

sbooth
Site Admin

Re: Dragging & dropping songs from iTunes scrambles order

Post by sbooth » Fri Aug 23, 2013 12:56 pm

Do you have a sort order set in the playlist (via the column headers)? If so, the drag should be reordered according to that. If there is no sort order then Decibel should get the tracks from iTunes in the order they're presented. Is this what you're seeing or is the behavior different?

shawtimothy

Post by shawtimothy » Fri Aug 23, 2013 5:12 pm

Thanks very much for the reply.

The only column that embodies the playlist order is in iTunes - it is an unlabeled first column which counts each row. This column does not appear in Decibel.