Replay Gain / iTunesNORM / Compression

Discuss Decibel, a high quality audio player.
krofa

Replay Gain / iTunesNORM / Compression

Post by krofa » Sun Sep 30, 2012 12:10 am

Hello!

I've just purchased Decibel - I'm looking forward to using it…

ATM I am researching the Replay Gain thing a bit. I'm a musician, so the lingo surrounding this is not foreign to me.

The Wikipedia article explains that this tool basically calculates a per song or per album volume level that is derived through an RMS analysis. The reference level is set at -14 dB FS leaving headroom for dynamics. This level should translate to 89 dB SPL in the "acoustic domain". (What this translates to in the analog domain (dBu / dBV) depends on your calibration!)

I'm also gathering that iTunes Sound Check purports to do the same thing based on Peak level analysis. I take it that they chose to go this way to be on the safe side. Peak analysis doesn't account for perceived loudness as reliably as RMS would, but it makes sure that there is no clipping at all. Bottom-line, if you adjust playback levels based on peak values, you will get no clipping period. Hence, you won't need compression... I don't know what the reference level for Sound Check is. I'm guessing that this approach would probably have more headroom than -14 dB FS.

In any case, I am planning to start using these features but I want to ensure two things; universal compatibility between media players and totally avoid any compression at all.

In a post here http://forums.sbooth.org/viewtopic.php? ... ain#p10928 you've mentioned that iTunesNORM support for Decibel is on your list.

Did you already implement it so that I could use something like iVolume and keep my ability to use both iTunes and Decibel with similar results? Or, does your "Tags" application write iTunesNORM data as well? That would be an elegant solution too.