FLAC encoder settings, custom settings in Max

Ask questions and get answers on how to make Max behave.
FLAC_Attack

FLAC encoder settings, custom settings in Max

Post by FLAC_Attack » Thu Jul 27, 2006 3:05 am

Hello,

I'm relatively new to FLAC and thus far, have only used the default encoder settings in Max. I would like to possibly tweak the custom settings, but I'm uncertain of what some of them mean. I've looked on the "Max Help: FLAC" file, but not all of the custom settings are explained, they simply say "to be written" behind them. I've searched on the web, looked at numerous sites (including the sourceforge FLAC page) and I either come up with no answers to my questions or something written in a way that is difficulat to comprehend. If anyone could help me with the following terms I would appreciate it:

1. QLP coefficient precision
2. Minimum residual partition order
3. Maximum residual partition order
4. Maximum LPC order

Also, how many bites should I reserve for metadata? I realize that choosing this number may be based on the other enocder settings I use and/or the limits of a particular computer? . . . Or perhaps I'm totaly wrong on this one. . .

Thank you for any help.
Last edited by FLAC_Attack on Fri Jul 28, 2006 2:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

sbooth
Site Admin

Re: FLAC encoder settings, custom settings in Max

Post by sbooth » Thu Jul 27, 2006 4:05 am