Does Max do AC3 files

Ask questions and get answers on how to make Max behave.
Post Reply
joneses
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:24 pm

Does Max do AC3 files

Post by joneses » Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:28 pm

I just downloaded MAX to convert my AC3 files to AIFF files but I'm having a little difficulty figuring out how to do that. I downloaded the unstable version and in the preferences I don't see an AC3 option.

User avatar
sbooth
Site Admin
Posts: 2445
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 7:45 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Does Max do AC3 files

Post by sbooth » Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:07 pm

No, Core Audio (and libsndfile as far as I know as well) don't decode AC-3 files. There is a free AC-3 codec (http://shep.thefridgeowl.com/a52codec.php) that could help, but I haven't tried it in years so I'm not sure to what extent it would be useful in this situation.

joneses
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:24 pm

Re: Does Max do AC3 files

Post by joneses » Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:42 pm

Thanks! I'm trying to find a decoder that can decode AC3 to AIFF in Leopard and it's been a challenge...

mattn
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 4:21 am

Re: Does Max do AC3 files

Post by mattn » Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:51 pm

Just for the record, I just tried a52decX (running on Leopard/Intel) and it worked fine for converting .ac3 to .aiff:

http://homepage1.nifty.com/~toku/softwa ... ml#a52decX

The source code is available so perhaps Max could eventually incorporate this transformation...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests