Ripping Without encoding

Ask questions and get answers on how to make Max behave.
JazzCat

Ripping Without encoding

Post by JazzCat » Mon May 15, 2006 12:28 pm

I'm a newbie so excuse my "newbieness". I'm trying to figure out how to rip a cd in its original format, so if the cd is in aiff, it will automatically rip the cd to my machine in its native format. When I was ripping an aiff cd I selected the identical format in the preference pane. I thought doing this would rip the cd but bypass the encoding process because the format I wanted was the same as the cd, but the encoding window poped up and did its thing.

Also, if you have a file that is lets say "aiff linear PCM 16 bit" and encode it to that exact same settings (not that there would be any reason to ever to that) could the audio lose quality despite maintaining the same settings. Just curious.

sbooth
Site Admin

Re: Ripping Without encoding

Post by sbooth » Mon May 15, 2006 2:10 pm

JazzCat wrote:I'm a newbie so excuse my "newbieness". I'm trying to figure out how to rip a cd in its original format, so if the cd is in aiff, it will automatically rip the cd to my machine in its native format. When I was ripping an aiff cd I selected the identical format in the preference pane. I thought doing this would rip the cd but bypass the encoding process because the format I wanted was the same as the cd, but the encoding window poped up and did its thing.
A CD's native audio format is 16-bit linear PCM data. Files such as WAVE and AIFF add headers for byte-ordering information and such. With Max's architecture, there is no way to rip without encoding. During the ripping phase Max extracts the audio to a 16-bit linear PCM format (the native format of the CD). During encoding, the extracted audio is converted to the desired output format. If you want AIFF output there is no quality loss.