Playback stability of r901

Discuss the development and future direction of Play.
denis
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:52 am

Re: Playback stability of r901

Post by denis » Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:42 pm

I initially set FRAMES_PER_SLICE to 8192, and that made playback almost perfect. I still got two AudioSchedulerErrors :

Code: Select all

2007-08-09 23:12:10.601 Play[12018] -audioSchedulerStartedRenderingRegion: 01. Blue Planet Corporation - Apex.flac (8192, 90112)
2007-08-09 23:15:48.129 Play[12018] AudioScheduler error: kScheduledAudioSliceFlag_BeganToRenderLate (starting sample 9592832)
2007-08-09 23:15:48.304 Play[12018] AudioScheduler error: kScheduledAudioSliceFlag_BeganToRenderLate (starting sample 9601024)


As you can see they occured in the middle of the track (the last paste was only after playing around one minute of the track), and the dropout was difficult to hear.
I now increased the NUMBER_OF_SLICES_IN_BUFFER to 20, and so far it seems playback is perfect for me :D

Code: Select all

2007-08-09 23:21:57.286 Play[13175] -audioSchedulerStartedRenderingRegion: 01. Blue Planet Corporation - Apex.flac (8192, 172032)
2007-08-09 23:29:24.222 Play[13175] -audioSchedulerFinishedSchedulingRegion: 01. Blue Planet Corporation - Apex.flac (19718144, 19869696)
2007-08-09 23:29:27.659 Play[13175] -audioSchedulerFinishedRenderingRegion: 01. Blue Planet Corporation - Apex.flac (19869696, 19869696)
I honestly think it would be great to expose some settings for the buffer size in the preferences part of Play, perhaps under an advanced pane. It is definitely a power user setting, but a great one for people who have weird/troublesome network setups and/or other factors that cause problems.

User avatar
sbooth
Site Admin
Posts: 2445
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 7:45 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Playback stability of r901

Post by sbooth » Mon Sep 10, 2007 5:11 pm

denis wrote:I honestly think it would be great to expose some settings for the buffer size in the preferences part of Play, perhaps under an advanced pane. It is definitely a power user setting, but a great one for people who have weird/troublesome network setups and/or other factors that cause problems.
I've added an Advanced preference pane to r932 that allows the buffer sizes to be customized. Hopefully this will help some people out there!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests