SHN files?

Discuss Play, an open source multi-format audio player.
peacefrog

SHN files?

Post by peacefrog » Thu Jul 03, 2008 3:54 am

Hello...I am a newbie here on these boards, and an Apple Mac newbie. After years of having an old Dell, I finally took the plunge and bought an iMac.

Anyway, I friend of mine recommended that I use PLAY software to play my many FLAC files. I have been using PLAY on my new iMac very successfully for about a week now, and I really dig it. I was just curious, does PLAY play SHN files? I have many concerts in SHN format; I would like to use PLAY for both my FLAC and SHN files, but currently PLAY is only playing back the FLAC files. I apologize if this question sounds ignorant...but quite honestly, I just don't know. Do I need yet a third audio software player on my new machine (in addition to iTunes and PLAY) to play back the SHN files?

Thanks much!!

sbooth
Site Admin

Re: SHN files?

Post by sbooth » Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:23 am

Play does not currently support playback of Shorten files, sorry.

peacefrog

Post by peacefrog » Thu Jul 03, 2008 12:40 pm

Thanks for the quick reply. Can anyone suggest a good software program which would be able to playback Shorten (SHN) files? My first preference would be to be able to play SHN files in PLAY or even iTunes. I am open to suggestions. Thanks again!!

Fuga

Post by Fuga » Thu Jul 03, 2008 1:02 pm

Nope. Only hope is to convert SHN to WAV and then into FLAC or ALAC.

haleakalari

Post by haleakalari » Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:09 pm

the 0.07 builds of Cog can play shn files perfectly (no choppiness during playback and can seek on shorten files when seek tables are present), Cog also supports a wide assortment of other formats as well.

latest official 0.07 stable build: http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/cogo ... 2?download
latest offical 0.07 "unstable" build: http://cogx.org/unstable_builds/Cog-r909.tbz