Play FAQ?

Discuss Play, an open source multi-format audio player.
willfriedwald

Play FAQ?

Post by willfriedwald » Mon Dec 31, 2007 11:57 pm

I just came across a mention of "Play" at Apple.com.

Is there a basic FAQ for the program somewhere? Would like to know how it differs from iTunes.

(I would love to hear that it has a more robust database backbone - something like mySQL instead of XML, which, I believe, is what's holding iTunes back.)

thanks and Happy New Year!

w

sbooth
Site Admin

Re: Play FAQ?

Post by sbooth » Tue Jan 01, 2008 12:33 am

There is no FAQ right now, but to answer your two questions (in brief):
  • Play supports many more formats than iTunes, including FLAC, Musepack, WavPack, and Ogg Vorbis
  • Play uses sqlite for storage

willfriedwald

Post by willfriedwald » Tue Jan 01, 2008 9:07 pm

thanks so much for your feedback.

Do you know if anyone is using PLAY with a very large music library? I have had a lot of experience with iTunes, and I find that the main drawback of the program is that it tends to slow down and ultimately choke with very large libraries (of the sort that I have) of 300-400-500 GB and up.

will definitely give PLAY a try (give PLAY some play) and see what happens -

sqlite is, I believe, a better database background than XML; I've also tried Amarok on linux, which uses full mySQL and is the best of all (for large libraries), but unfortunately only exists for linux. But will give PLAY a try and see how it goes.

thanks very much!

W

PS: if you feel like reading more on my experiences with mega-huge music libraries, check the link below:

http://www.glennwolsey.com/?s=friedwald

http://www.glennwolsey.com/2007/04/19/i ... ollection/

sbooth
Site Admin

Post by sbooth » Tue Jan 01, 2008 9:47 pm

I would love to hear your experiences; Play has not been tested with libraries of that size! My personal library is only around 5,000 tracks but Play seems to handle it fairly well once it is up and running.

willfriedwald